Design Process: Define, Research, Ideation and Prototype

This semester I’ve begun working on a short animation for my motion design class. Our objective is to ultimately experiment with Adobe After Effects, through the creation of a short, abstract piece, exploring our capabilities within the program. I’ve found the program partially challenging over the past few weeks, however through countless online tutorials and class tutorials, my confidence has grown immensely. 

I commenced the seven step design process by Ambrose and Harris (2009): define, research, ideate, prototype, sleek, implement, and learn. After analysing the brief both in class and individually, I launched into the research stage and started to collect designs for information and inspiration. 

Instantly I was drawn to smooth geometric designs reminiscent of the bauhaus movement. I also liked the combinations of bright colour palettes that worked together in contrast. As I progressed through the research phase, I was already set on the idea of using a grid structure and a slow in – slow out style motion movement. 

Once I entered the ideation stage, I created rough drafts of how I wanted the design to assemble. Our final animation is to be transferred into a poster format, with a trigger image set play through the ARTIVIVE app. Initially, I found it challenging to pin point and build a visual hierarchy when I began experimenting with a structural grid. However I ultimately decided to continue working in an even grid structure as I felt it worked best with the geometric elements within my design. 

“The grid is culturally associated with modern urbanism, architects and technology.“

(Lupton & Phillips 2008, p. 175)

Within the ideation stage, I started to create experiments within after effects, building shapes and experimenting the ways in which I could use motion to connect them. I learnt about the mechanics behind the graph editor, and I began to play with velocity settings and key frame assistants. 

After Effects Graph Speed Editor

I loved the flow of the easy in and easy out key frame settings. I also based my design around the element of looping, which I found prevalent when conducting my research. The loop designs create a balance sequence through repetition. I also experimented with a range of bright and fluorescent colours before selecting my current colour scheme. 

After growing more comfortable with after effects, and developing experimental works, I progressed into my current stage of design: prototyping. I am currently working to resolve my previous ideas, and produce designs to implement into my final animation. I am planning to continue utilising an even grid structure, motion looping, and timing within my sequence. 

References

Lupton, E & Phillips, JC 2008, Graphic Design : The New Basics, Princeton Architectural Press, New York.

Ambrose, G, & Harris, P 2009, Design Thinking, AVA Publishing, Crans-pres-Celigny, CHE.

Leave a comment